Shelf-stable food manufacturer, Stonewall Kitchen, has announced a recall on its ghost pepper queso. More than 4,800 jars of the queso are being recalled because they were mislabeled as ghost pepper salsa.
Ghost Pepper Queso, said the company, contains milk and soy, two of the major food allergens, that are not declared on the label. Any person who is allergic to soy or milk, or who has lactose intolerance, could have a serious reaction if they eat this product, the company stated. No illnesses or allergic reactions have been reported to the company to date.
According to Stonewall Kitchen, the mislabeled jars should be easy to spot because ghost pepper queso is a bright orange yellow color, while ghost pepper salsa is dark red. The company is encouraging anyone who has these jars to throw them away or take them back to their point-of-purchase for a full refund.